Being obsessed with Facebook.

Everyone’s on Facebook nowadays. From your friends to your mom, everyone’s there. Facebook is pretty addicting. In fact, it even borders on obsession. I confess that I am mildly obsessed too. But some of my friends are worse than me. They’re always online, even at midnight. They keep updating their status every five minutes. They change their profile picture every week. They ‘share’ pictures all the time. Even in my family, people are pretty obsessed with Facebook. Even if she’s really busy, my sister manages to check her Facebook every single day. My uncle takes his blackberry with him to the washroom and checks his Facebook there! My mom and dad check their Facebook every night on their phones. My mom and I love stalking our relatives on Facebook. I’m telling you, we’re all pretty obsessed.

There are three stages to Facebook obsession.

  1. In the beginning, you join Facebook after being forced by your friends. You’re reluctant, but you’re tired of people asking you why you’re not there. You join, customize your profile, add friends. “Its not so amazing” you say to yourself, “I don’t know why people are making such a big deal.”
  2. A few weeks later, you change your profile picture. You accept that request you get on farmville. You ‘like’ all these pages. You start to update your status more often. These are the early signs of Facebook obsession.
  3. A month has passed. You love Facebook so much now that you check it every five minutes. You upload new pictures all the time and check in at places. You update your status with every mundane thing you do, like “I just woke up. Good morning people!” or “Brushing my teeth” or “Just eating a sandwich” . You stalk people on Facebook, your friends or relatives or just random people you know. You take your phone with you everywhere to check Facebook. It is such a vital part of your life that you don’t know what to do without it. You are completely obsessed with Facebook now.

And these are the various stages of Facebook addiction. Everyone who is on Facebook has gone through them, including me. Right now, I’m in the fourth stage where I’m not quite so obsessed with Facebook, but I still like it.

What about you? Are you on Facebook? Are you obsessed? Or are you one of those people who are strong and can resist the temptation of Facebook? Comment and let me know! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Being obsessed with Facebook.

I want to know your opinion. Leave a comment below!

