The awesomeness that is Tegan and Sara.

Okay, so recently my friend asked me to tell her about Tegan and Sara. So I thought, why not make a post about it? Since Tegan and Sara is one my favorite bands of, uh, ALL TIME, this is gonna be easy. I want to talk about a lot of things in this post – How I discovered Tegan and Sara, why I love them, my favorite songs, my favorite banter videos, some quotes, their album which is going to release next year and a lot of stuff. Yeah, so umm, this post will be quite long but I suggest you read it because listening to Tegan and Sara will just, make your life better. I promise. Okay, so here goes:

What or who are Tegan and Sara? Tegan and Sara are a Grammy nominated Canadian indie pop band formed in  Calgary. Composed of identical twin sisters Tegan Rain Quin and Sara Keirsten Quin (born September 19, 1980). Both play the guitar and keyboards, and write their songs. Tegan and Sara started recording their seventh studio album on February 20, 2012. The band has announced that the record is called Heartthrob and will be released on January 29th, 2013 in the US. Oooohhh so excited can’t wait!!!

heart

How did I discover Tegan and Sara? It was the year……okay, I don’t remember the year. I don’t actually remember how I discovered them either. Someone told me…..I think? Anyway, I listened to nineteen, and I was like ‘wow, I need to listen to more of their music.’ Then I heard back in your head, the con and my feelings just exploded. I could relate with all the emotions- the feeling of loneliness, longing, nostalgia back to the times when things were so much easier. Let me get one thing straight- Tegan and Sara songs are NOT depressing.   They’re upbeat depressing? The kind that makes you go “So there are other people who feel the way I do” and it makes you happy.

Tegan quin
Tegan quin
Sara quin
Sara quin

Why do I love Tegan and Sara? There are so many reasons I don’t know where to start. I guess the most obvious and major reason is their music. It’s just so relatable and when you hear it you’ll go “OMG. That’s exactly how I feel.” Then, its the way they give people a look at what happens behind the scenes. The con dvd, Get along, Its not fun don’t do it, give people a look at Tegan and Sara not just as artists but also as people. They don’t just present a sanitized, ideal, perfect version of themselves. They let us see who they really are. That’s rare. Oh and their onstage banter. OH MY GOD. I can spend hours watching their banter. They are so funny! And cute.

(I want to post videos of my favorite banter clips but  I can’t choose so you’ll just have to go to youtube and search for ‘Tegan and Sara banter clips’. Do it. Your life will be better.)

Tegan and Sara write mainly about love, heartbreak, relationships etc.

“When I wrote this song I felt pretty unoriginal because everybody writes love songs, and everybody feels like their love is the most important and when their love ends and they get their heart broken, that nobody understands. And…that’s ridiculous, but so am I.” 
― Tegan Quin

“This next song is about when you get your heart broken and you try your best to glue it back together and you wake up one morning and you’re so happy because you realize, Oh my God, the tape’s holding!” 
― Sara Quin

 

I sound like an obsessive, crazy,fan girl. Which I am. So its okay.

Okay, so now I’ll shut up and post links of my favorite songs by them.

  1. THE CON. 

This songs……breaks my heart every time I hear it.

2.  CLOSER

3. SOIL SOIL

‘I feel like a fool and I’m going to stop troubling you’ is my favorite line. Because everyone’s felt like that at one point.

4. NINETEEN

5. BACK IN YOUR HEAD

This will get stuck in your head, that’s for sure.

6. HELL

7. ALLIGATOR

8. WHERE DOES THE GOOD GO

*sigh* all time favorite

So I just made this WHOLE post about Tegan and Sara and now I feel stupid. You probably think I’m crazy. But I just have to share my love for them with the world. What are you waiting for now? Go listen to more of their songs, stalk them on twitter, watch videos on Youtube etc. You have a lot of things to do.

And also a message that all Tegan and Sara fans should remember and pass on to others:

“Prison is not a joke.” -Emy Storey

 

2 thoughts on “The awesomeness that is Tegan and Sara.

  1. well..they are definitely not mainstream..:)..they have a unique style..:)..and..I LOVE THEIR LYRICS!!…wowie dowie..:)…*clappies*

I want to know your opinion. Leave a comment below!

