Catching Fire

So on Thursday I went to watch Catching Fire.

*deep breath* Stay caaalm.

Calm? I don’t do calm.

OMG I SAW CATCHING FIRE IT WAS AMAZING AAH PEETA KATNISS OMG SO MANY FEELS.

Now that I’ve let that out, I think I talk about the movie more calmly and rationally. Maybe. I might freak out somewhere in the middle of the post. You have been warned.

On Thursday, the 21st of November, Catching Fire released in cinemas across Dubai and other parts of the world. So of course I went to see it with my friends.

As soon as I sat down in the theater, my excitement threatened to overwhelm me but I managed to control it and contented my self with small squeaks of excitement.  Next to me, my friends where also making similar noises. I also felt a bit nervous. What if the movie didn’t live up to my expectations? But it did and I’m SO HAPPY.

In this movie, we get to see more of the capitol which is very interesting. I loved the opening ceremonies for the quarter quell and the interview with Caesar when Katniss twirls and her wedding dress burns away to reveal a different dress underneath. Then she realises that Cinna has turned her into the mockingjay. During the victory tour, Katniss speech about Rue was touching and I almost cried.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In this movie, we see each character growing. Katniss and Peeta’s relationship too is growing. Peeta tells her that he wants to get to know her and doesn’t want to just act for the cameras and then ignore each other. I also kinda like Effie now. When Katniss has to go back to the arena for the quarter quell, Effie actually cries and tells Katniss that it wasn’t fair, and she deserved better.

There are signs of the rebellion everywhere, with mockingjay’s and people fighting against the capitol. As Prim said, “There’s something different now. There’s hope.”

I was also really interested in seeing the arena, and how it translated onto the screen. The action scenes were very, uh actiony, meaning we screamed and clutched each other many times and almost fell off our seats.

Katniss is of course, my favorite character in the movie. And just in case I haven’t mentioned, I’m on Team Peeta. But I have to say that Jennifer Lawrence’s performance in this movies was amazing. It didn’t feel as if it were Jennifer Lawrence playing the part of Katniss, it felt as if it was Katniss herself.

Catching Fire was a pretty long movie but you don’t really notice it. In Hunger Games, towards the end, I couldn’t help but think “this movie is reaally long”.

So all in all, I LOVED Catching Fire, I’m probably going to watch it again and again. I cannot wait for Mockingjay.

May the odds be ever in your favor.

 

Rachana

One thought on “Catching Fire

I want to know your opinion. Leave a comment below!

